Relationship with God vs Marriage with God

Posted: November 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

Relationship with God….what does that mean?  We hear that phrase over and over, yet for some reason it has become a phrase overused, misused and misunderstood.

In our series, Runaway Bride, I have been seeking what that really means because I don’t think “relationship with God” is adequate to truly describe what God intends for our “relationship” to be.  When someone is in a relationship, it’s difficult to define what commitment really means.  I can have a relationship but the definition of commitment has various uses.  I can have a relationship and still not really be committed to that person.  I can give a little and still have a relationship with them.

As I was running and praying, I asked God to show me what that “relationship with God” is and he clearly brought the word marriage to my mind.  Marriage denotes the unity of two people.  It is a word that clearly has more meaning than relationship.  Relationship is vague while marriage defines the extent of the relationship.

If we are the bride of Christ, we are married to Jesus.  This may sound really weird, but the truth of the matter is our “relationship with God” should look and feel like a marriage.  The unfortunate reality is what marriage has become in our culture and so we have to really biblically define what marriage is rather than looking at the cultural definition of marriage.

My question to you is, “Are you married to Jesus? or Are you just dating Jesus?”

I will be posting more on our series of what we have covered….it’s been a great journey so far……..

Leave a Reply

