Another Kick in the Butt from Ezekiel: Seriously God?

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

Another Butt-Kicking from God……

Ezekiel 24:15-18
Then this message came to me from the LORD: “Son of man, I am going to take away your dearest treasure.  Suddenly she will die.  yet you must not show any sorrow.  Do not weep let there be no tears.  You may sigh but only quietly.  Let there be no wailing at her grave.  Do not uncover your head or take off your sandals.  D not perform the rituals of mourning or accept any food brought to you by consoling friends.” So I proclaimed this to the people the next morning, and in the evening my wife died……”


WHAT?  Did I read correctly?  His wife died?  How/Why/Crap!!!!!  I did not see this coming.  I was reading Ezekiel 24 and I am reading and reading and reading and I see, “I am going to take away your dearest treasure” and then I keep reading not thinking about what I just read and then BAM!: “And in the evening my wife died!”

Honestly, I am thinking, “God, Ezekiel has done everything you have told him to do and he is bearing a large brunt of the judgement being passed down–I don’t think he was voted mayor or most popular by his peers–and then his wife dies!  What the crap?

Why is this significant?  If Ezekiel’s wife was anything like my wife she would be characterized as my rock, my helpmate, my cheerleader, my hot wife, the person I talk to about everything, my consoler, my greatest advocate, my stabilizer in times of stress, my best friend–I would die without her–I couldn’t do life without her.  We laugh together, we cry together….we are ONE.  She is a source of security and pride.  She is my TREASURE!

If Ezekiel’s wife was anything like my wife–she meant everything to him.

As I wrote the above paragraph about the characteristics of my wife in my journal, God said, “This needs to be me.”  What do you mean this needs to be you?  That still small voice said, “You’ve replaced your wife above me.  Read what you wrote!” (So I read it over)  God said, “That’s what I want to be to you!  Your pride, joy and glory needs to be me!

My response, “ohhhhh!”

Ezekiel experienced pain unlike no other–times of unexpected pain will come in my life so God can teach me and mold me.  To form iron, there must be fire.  A great sword is tempered through pounds of the hammer and fire–the result–a magnificent sword!

Even through the good times and bad times, God I need to rely on God and allow him to be my rock, my helpmate, my cheerleader, the person I talk to about everything, my consoler, my greatest advocate, my stabilizer in times of stress, my best friend, my source of security and pride….my TREASURE!

Now, it doesn’t mean that my wife can’t continue to be these things to me, but my joy needs to be found in Christ and in no other.  I need to come to him and run to him in good times and bad times.  I can’t pretend that He is these things to me just on Sunday and Wednesday.  These need to be evident of my trust in Him on a daily basis.

This Scripture brings the thought of what my TREASURE is to a whole new level.  Who knows what is ahead that will bring me to my knees in pain….but my prayer is that He remains my treasure through all of the junk.

If you are going through difficult times, may Jesus be your peace that surpasses all understanding!

Leave a Reply

