THIS WILL ROCK YOUR WORLD!

Posted: December 1, 2011 in Uncategorized
We showed this video on Wednesday night to our students at Revolution.  I must warn you that this video will step on your toes and it may downright offend you, but as I told our students last night, I(we) have nothing to lose in showing this video….why you ask?
We are in a battle and as believers it seems that we are losing. (yes, I know that it says that the gates of hell will not prevail, but).  I sense we are going through the motions as a church and as the American Church.  We can’t keep going through the motions expecting different results.  We have to come back to the foundation!  We have to revisit our lives and examine our lives in light of the Scripture, not in light of the person who says they are a Christian sitting next to us in the pew or cubicle.

We HAD to show this to our students because much of this semester we have gone through the motions and we have created a false fire.  We have become our own idols and to be frank, if you walked through our doors, you wouldn’t really see much difference between us and the world.  We started looking more like the world than Jesus and we presented the challenge that this has to stop!  We are drawing a line in the sand.  We have come to the understanding that in order to really follow Jesus, our youth group may shrink in numbers, but in spiritual might and through watering seeds of faithfulness, God would grow His army…not programs, not slick worship, not my teaching, not cool stuff.  So, we had to show this video.  It’s really nothing new.  It’s getting back to seeing and calling it what the real problem is.

We are in desperate times as the Church and we can sit idly by and pretend everything is okay or we can take bold action….call sin-sin…repent….and move forward as an army ready to advance His kingdom!
To set the stage, this event recorded was in 2002 to a group of thousands of teenagers at a Southern Baptist Youth Evangelism Conference.  It will take about an hour of your time, but I believe it will be worth it.  I’m tired of going through the motions…..Jesus didn’t die for my sins for me to go through the motions–He died to set me free and live for Him.

I remember watching this video two or three years ago during the bad ice storm that kept us from church and I was looking for something for my wife and I to watch since we couldn’t go to church.  I ran into this video and it rocked my world!!!!  I am praying it will knock you to your knees in repentance and will encourage you to renew the joy of His salvation in your life.  If you sense after watching the video, you need to talk, please contact me through this blog and I would love to have coffee with you and talk about these things.

You can also check out one of our Students’ blogs, Ashley, and check out her response after watching it @:
http://icallitlif3.blogspot.com/2011/11/matthew-713-23-paul-washer.html?spref=fb
Leave a Reply

