Your Relationship with God will Suck if…….

Posted: December 3, 2011 in Uncategorized
I know the title is a little extreme, but I am hoping it caught your attention!
YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH JESUS WILL SUCK IF…..YOU DON’T LIKE TO READ THE WORD OF GOD!
I have danced around this thought for the longest time not wanting to offend anyone, but as I read the Scripture and listen to the Scripture, this is the greatest excuse from people of God, especially MEN of GOD, for not getting into the Word.
Let me explain from the Scriptures as I was reading Daniel 7.  After I read Daniel 7, I wrote the following questions down and it led to the above statement:
  • What countries are they talking about when speaking of four kingdoms?
  • Is America involved in any way in the end times?  If so, what part will it play, if any?
  • Will I be ready?  Ready to give an answer to the hope I have in Christ?
  • If we are ever controlled by a Muslim dominated culture–will I be ready and in opposition, stand up for Jesus?
I think I know what the answer is to these questions and I am preparing myself for these things to happen.  My response is to draw near to God and He will draw near to me–I need to walk so in tune with Jesus so I can discern his voice and that comes through READING THE WORD OF GOD.
Matthew 24 talks a lot about the end times: earthquakes, wars, rumors of wars among other things and it says in verse 26, “So if someone tells you, ‘Look, the Messiah is out in the desert, don’t bother to go and look. Or ‘Look, he is hiding here,’ don’t believe it.  For as the lightning flashes in the east and shines to the west, so i till be when the Son of Man comes.”
Some who don’t know what the Word says have thought Obama is the Messiah–many will believe stuff like this because they are not in tune with what the Word of God says.  Many just rely on the preacher on Sunday mornings to deliver the Word and that is good enough for them.  The Word of God is the very heart of God yet it’s the One Book that never gets read–it is the result of many excuses.
Just take a look at Psalm 119–it reveals how David longs, loves and HANGS onto the very Words of God.
When I am away from my family, I recall times of being together and recall conversations we have had that have made me, laugh, cry or think, but I am always reminded of their love for me and my love for them.
The same goes for us.  Jesus is not physically with us, but spiritually inside of us and there are times when we laugh, cry and go through great times and difficult times.  During these times, I open the Word and am comforted, challenged, and equipped.  I am reminded of how much Jesus cares for me.  I recall times when I was disobedient and I seek forgiveness.  I am reminded that I am not in this alone.  I am reminded of my future and this time away is temporary and sometimes lonely, but the Word gives me visions of being home and one of these days I will meet my Creator face-to-face.
Again, the biggest excuse of getting into the Word….I don’t like to read.  Your relationship with Jesus will always suck if you do not read the Word of God. You will continually be n the hospital and survive on an IV solution of milk!
I can no longer stand idly by and say that’s okay.  I can’t sugar coat it any longer and be okay with my brothers and sisters in Christ who say I don’t like to read.  Now, I do know that there are those who have learning disabilities, but with YouVersion, you can now listen to the whole Bible!
Can I ask you a question?  Do you read the advertisements in preparation for the Christmas season?  Do you read directions to your favorite game or latest toy?  Do you read the roadsigns as you drive?  Do you look at the internet and read all of the news and other fascinating stuff on it?  Do you read the newspaper at home or on your phone?  Do you read all of the texts that come across your phone?
There is no excuse….let’s be honest and say, “I am just lazy!  My relationship with Jesus really isn’t that important.  I could care less what Jesus has to say to me. I’m going to live my life the way I want it.  Jesus only interferes with my life.”
I cannot stand idly by and say this is okay any longer and allow my “friends” to just walk in apathy.  I’ll keep feeding you–that’s the purpose of church–that is CRAP!  If I were to keep spoon feeding my 13 year old daughter, you would probably think I am crazy.  I stopped spoon feeding her when she was two or three years old.
If you have been a believer for more than 2 or 3 years, and you are still being spoon fed, there’s something wrong.  When my kids started learning to ride their bike, they didn’t stop because they fell off one time.  For some it took days and weeks for them to really learn how to ride their bike.  The same way it is with reading the Word.
  • You may fall off and be tempted to never open it again.
  • You will encounter difficult passages that you have no clue what it’s talking about.
  • You will not be able to pronounce every name or word in the Bible.
  • You will usually have more questions than answers after reading the Bible.
  • You will get bored at times and it will seem to be just another routine.
  • You will get so enthralled with parts of the Word that it is difficult to put down.
  • You will get so mad sometimes at God as to why He did certain things in the Bible.
  • You will have dry seasons.
  • You will have awesome seasons.
  • You will be challenged to get rid of idols in your life,
  • YOU WILL EVENTUALLY BE CHANGED BECAUSE THE WORD SAYS IT WILL NEVER RETURN VOID(Isaiah 55:11)
In Daniel 9:2, it says,
“Daniel was studying the writings of the prophet.  I learned from the Word of the Lord, as recorded by Jeremiah the prophet, that Jerusalem must lie desolate for seventy years, so I turned to the Lord and pleaded with him in prayer and fasting and he answered my prayer.”
I read this Scripture and thought, “If it was so important for Daniel to study the Words of the Lord and it says he “LEARNED from the Word of the Lord”–how much more important is it for me to READ, STUDY AND LEARN?
This characteristic and the fact that God used him sooo much was not because he was good looking or popular–it was because he put the effort and energy into his relationship with God and God knew David sooo well, God knew He could trust David!
IT ALL STARTED WITH DANIEL BEING A MAN OF GOD AND READING THE WORD–IT STARTED WITH HIS RELATIONSHIP WITH GOD!
Could it be that the reason God hasn’t used you in the way you think he should is because you haven’t been faithful with this simple part of a relationship with God.  If we cannot simply communicate with Him, how in the world will he ever trust us?  If the simple desire to get to know Him is not there–why trust you and me to carry His name more?
I close with this Scripture from 1 Timothy 4:7,8:
“Instead, train yourself to be godly.  Physical training is good, but training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.”

To find out more information on studying about the end times, check out the books of Daniel and Ezekiel, Matthew 24 and for other resources I suggest checking out Joel Roseberg, a messianic Jew, who focuses on end times.

May your eyes be opened through the very Words of God!!!!!  If you need help, please do not hesitate to respond through this blog or catch me at Ridgeway and we can do coffee! Check out the following videos: Word of God Speak and a real resource that you can use starting now: YouVersion!


Leave a Reply

