The Month I Left My Egypt

Posted: February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

The year….1990….the month I left my Egypt….the month I crossed over from death to life….the month that Jesus saved me.

In Exodus 13:3, Moses said to the people, “This is a day to remember forever–the day you left Egypt, the place of your slavery.  Today the LORD has brought you out by his power of his mighty hand.  On this day….you have been set free. “

I was set free in 1990.

I remember like it was yesterday.

I grew up at a boys home called Cal Farley’s Boys Ranch located outside of Amarillo, Texas.  I was sixteen at the time and we were on a chapel choir tour. On one particular evening, we went to a Drug Rehab Center for teenagers and presented the gospel through music. From that presentation, many of those teenagers in that center gave their lives to Christ. I even had an opportunity to lead one of the teenagers to Christ.

Later that evening on our way home back to the Boys Ranch, I was sitting by myself in one of the bus seats and someone had placed a Romans Road Gospel tract on the seat next to me. I had read over that tract and thought about what God just did in the midst of those teenagers at the rehab center and I began to evaluate my own spiritual condition and my past.

As I read over each of those verses–Romans 3:23, Romans 6:23, John 3:16, Romans 10:9,10– I realized that if I were to die that night, I would not have gone to heaven. Jesus was not the Lord of my life. He was more of a religion. God’s Word pierced my heart and I realized that I was a sinner and I needed God’s forgiveness, so I simply asked Jesus to rescue me and I committed my life wholeheartedly to Him.

That’s my story…..No, I wasn’t in Egypt, but I was in bondage.  Just as the Israelites were slaves in Egypt, I was a slave too.  I didn’t have iron shackles nor was I forced to work, but I was indeed a slave to sin.

I was reminded as I read the Scriptures in Exodus, that I need to celebrate  and remember what I used to be a slave to and how Jesus rescued me.

“You must explain to your children, ‘I am celebrating what the LORD did for me when I left Egypt.’  The annual festival will be a sign to you, like a mark branded on your hand or your forehead. Let it remind you always to recite this teaching of the Lord: ‘With a strong hand, the LORD rescued you from Egypt.'”  Exodus 3:8-10

How awesome would it be if we took the same energy, planning and excitement to yearly celebrate our spiritual birthdays–when Jesus saved us from our Egypt?  What would it communicate to our children?  What would it communicate to our friends?  What if we were to celebrate every year and remember that “with a strong hand, the LORD rescued you from Egypt!”

My challenge for me and for those that read this blog is for us to put this most magnificent decision on the priority list for 2012!

 

Let me know how it goes….if you wish share your day/month when you left your Egypt!

Leave a Reply

