It Takes Effort to Experience God

Posted: February 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

“Then Moses, Aaron, Nadab, Abihu and the seventy elders of Israel climbed up the Mountain. There they saw the God of Israel…in fact they ate a covenant meal, eating and drinking in His presence.”  Exodus 24:9-11.

In order for Moses and his friends to see God what was the first thing the needed to do?

They needed to climb a mountain!

They first had to determine in their hearts to move. Second, the had to start walking. Third, they had to encourage one another as the climbing may have gotten tiring. Fourth, it may have required sweat.

But through all of this, their effort was worth it! I don’t think they fully understood their prize until they got to the top. They might of had an idea, but what actually happened was way beyond anything they could fathom.

I know that Jesus resides in my heart and Jesus came down to man–setting this understanding aside….

IT TAKES EFFORT TO EXPERIENCE GOD!

Even with Christ in my heart He is not going to make me do anything that I don’t want to do.

The reality is there are things that I have to DO in order to really experience God.

  • In order to experience God in my home through worship, I am going to have to look at my spotify  list and create a worship set. Worship will not happen on its own in my home.
  • In order to experience God in my personal walk, I am going to have to open my Bible and read it (or listen to it). I am also going to have to pray either silently or out loud.
  • In order to help others experience God, I have to learn to serve others even when I don’t feel like it.
  • In order to experience God, I need to sit still and just listen.  This requires me to rearrange my schedule and not do a thing, but listen.  Listening takes work!
  • In order to see others experience God, I have to get out of my comfort zone, be ready to preach the word in season and off season.
  • I have to be willing to give up 2% of my time in order to change the 98% of me.  I have to be willing to give my resources in order to share the Gospel with others locally, nationally, and internationally.

BE-ing has overcome DO-ing it seems in the church.  Now, there is a place for BE-ing, but I believe we as the church have used this as an excuse to do absolutely nothing because if we were really BE-ing, it would propel us to be Do-ing and we would see an awakening in our church.  BE-ing yes comes first so that we can give what we have(a relationship with God) to others.

Again, there is a time to just BE, but you can also DO at the same time.  One must be careful though that there is a BE part of your relationship with Christ and not just a DO.  There has to be balance in this.  If I am always doing, but never sit down enough to spend time with HIM, I have also missed the boat.

This scripture in Exodus 24 just jumped out of the page and the incredible reward was dining with Jesus.  Sometimes in the midst of our Do-ing, we can actually just BE and that is part of the reward.

The ultimate reward is BE-ing with Jesus!

Leave a Reply

