Honor One Another: Sarah Lehew

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

(Post #1 of a series based on Romans 12:10, “Love each other with genuine affection and take delight in honoring one another.”  See previous post)

Ridgeway - Office Shirts 549

Last week when I was in Mexico, Walker Moore, president of AweStar ministries, taught on speaking into the lives of the ladies in our lives.  When a woman looks into a man’s eyes, she should see what God thinks of her.  It is our job as men to reflect God’s glory back into a woman’s life.  This happens by speaking into her worth and value and by reflecting her virtues back to her.  The best way to do this is simply repeat what God has already said in Proverbs 31.
As we read through Proverbs 31, I couldn’t help but realize that all of these characteristics of Proverbs 31 were found in my wife.  Although she is very beautiful, I love her for who she is–the characteristics found in Proverbs 31.
10 I have found a virtuous and capable wife in Sarah Lehew.
Sarah is more precious than rubies.
11 I  can trust her,
and she has greatly enriched my life.
12 Sarah has brought me good, not harm,
all the days of my life.
13 Sarah finds wool and flax
and busily sews it.
14 Sarah is like a merchant’s ship,
bringing her food from Wal-Mart (and she cooks great).
15 Sarah gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household
and plan the day’s work for her kids.
16 Sarah budgets wisely
and counts the cost before spending.
17 Sarah is energetic and strong,
a VERY hard worker.
18 Sarah makes sure her dealings are profitable and wise;
her lamp and Kindle is on late into the night.
19 Sarah’s hands are busy making our home better
her fingers always doing something.
20 Sarah extends a helping hand to the poor
and opens her arms to the needy.
21 Sarah has no fear of winter for her household,
for everyone has warm clothes.
22 Sarah makes her own bedspreads.
She dresses in nice clothes.
23 Sarah’s husband is a families pastor at Foundation Church,
where he sits and ministers to the local communities.
24 Sarah makes duct-tape purses
to help her kids get on the mission field.
25 Sarah is clothed with strength and dignity,
and she laughs without fear of the future.
26 When Sarah speaks, her words are wise,
and she gives instructions with kindness.
27 Sarah carefully watches everything in her household
and suffers nothing from laziness.
28 Sarah’s children stand and bless her.
I praise her:
29 “There are many virtuous and capable women in the world,
but you, Sarah Lehew,  surpass them all!”
30Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last;
but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.
31Reward her for all she has done.
Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.
Today, I publicly declare my wife’s praise.  A woman of God who stands in the shadows not wanting the attention, but one cannot escape the beauty and the wisdom that my wife conveys and carries.  Along with being a Proverbs 31 woman….
  • She loves Jesus.  She knows what she believes and has a solid foundation in Jesus.  She will not compromise her convictions or allow the culture to determine her next steps.
  • She loves her family.  Her love for our kids is amazing.  She has purpose from the time she rises to the time she lays down to sleep in helping our kids find their purpose in Christ.
  • Her respect for me is tremendous even when I don’t deserve the respect.
  • She has such a giving heart.  She will do whatever in order to help people.
I honestly don’t know what she saw in me 19 years ago, but I am so thankful that she took a chance and loves me in spite of my inconsistencies and struggles.  Sarah–you are truly a Proverbs 31 Woman and I am the luckiest man in all of the world.
Men, who you date and eventually marry makes all the difference in the world.  Don’t settle due to your lust.  Settle upon who God leads you to and determine to be a godly man.  God will lead you to a godly woman when you become a godly man.  A Proverbs 31 woman is who you should be seeking.  Trust me on this one–my wife is the greatest example!
Leave a Reply

